Why I can’t get excited about the election

There are certain things that would have to be true before I could get excited about this year’s presidential election.

The people would have to form their preferences based on the best available information, without relying on their ignorance, prejudice or superstition.

Everybody who’s eligible to vote would be able to do so.

The votes would be counted accurately.

The results would reflect the will of the people.

Naturally, there are a lot of other things that have to go right before an election is proper and democratic in any meaningful sense. For me, though, these are the fundamentals. If even one is missing, what you’re left with is an empty exercise.

I’m not sure if any of this has been true of past elections, and I’m not confident that future elections—including this one—will be any different. People are already hard at work forgetting the lessons we learned from our most recent elections, in an apparent attempt to preserve their Confidence in the System™.

Well, I haven’t got any Confidence in the System™ left to preserve, and I honestly don’t know what restoring it would require. But I don’t see it happening any time soon, and certainly not before November.

2 Responses to Why I can’t get excited about the election

  1. Todd says:

    I think this summarizes my feelings exactly. It’s hard to watch politics these days.

  2. Mark says:

    Thanks, Todd, I didn’t think I was the only one thinking it.

    If there’s anything that separates me from a lot of people online, I think it must be that I don’t care for my own opinions. I believe them, but I wish they weren’t true.

Leave a Reply

