Giving the voices in my head something to talk about

For weeks now I have been vacillating over what book to read next, and it came to me that I wasn’t in the mood for fiction and the emotional involvement that goes with it. So I decided to try ‘Tis: A Memoir by Frank McCourt. Angela’s Ashes made me want to throw it across the room a few times in the first hundred pages, when it seemed like the parade of tragic deaths would never end, but in time I added it to my list of favorite books that I will never be able to read again. His follow-up promises to be a bit lighter in tone, and I already know he doesn’t die at the end because I have a copy of Teacher Man waiting on my TBR heap.

Maybe a little further down the line I’ll be in the frame of mind for some more fiction. Not just now.

Leave a Reply

